march: lisa’s double lemon cheesecake

The inspiration for my dish this month came from something I saw on My Kitchen Rules (Australia). Yes, I am the type of person that follows all these cooking shows on TV religiously. I would even go so far as to say that one of the main reasons why I got Foxtel installed was so that I could have the Food channel available 24/7! Well, that’s a story for another day.

So, as I was saying, one night on MKR, I saw one pair of contestants make a double chocolate cheesecake that looked mighty fine and very tasty. I thought, what if I took that idea of a double cheesecake, and give it a citrus twist.

What resulted was my double lemon cheesecake.

This was only the second time I’ve attempted a cheesecake. I’m not ashamed to say that my first attempt failed. Miserably! I didn’t give the base enough time to set, and my cheese mixture was way too runny to be successful. Luckily this attempt was a thousand times better.

I think this is a fairly easy recipe. There are three components. You should make the base first (obviously), and make sure that you pack it down tightly. I find the thin end of a pestle is perfect for this. Then while the base is setting in the fridge, you can make the cheese mixture.

Once that’s done, you can make the lemon curd. The prepared curd can be stored in the fridge until you’re ready to use it. Your cheesecakes can be completed ahead of time, so all you have to do is plate up. I have no doubt your guests will be impressed.

My guests described the cheese layer like a refreshing lemon sorbet, only creamier. It’s the perfect end to a lazy Sunday lunch or summer dinner party.

Leave a Reply

