april: Jasmine’s carrot, orange and mint cake

I have always loved carrot cake. While we were growing up, my mum would make carrot cake (the type with cinnamon, all spice and walnuts) with cream cheese icing for special occasions. So, when I came across this recipe for a modern re-make of the classic carrot cake, I was really excited to give it a try! The citrus and mint added a bit of exotic-ness to the classic version. I added raisins to mine, but it’s optional and if you are a fan of walnuts, I think that would work well with this recipe too.

I made this cake as a dessert for a casual lunch gathering, so preferred to present the cake whole and sliced/served in front of my guests. The recipe works well in a muffin tin (for individual sized servings) or a loaf tin (for a brunch).

Leave a Reply

