april : lisa’s carrot baklava

This month I was inspired to try something really different. I remember watching an episode of Food Safari a long time ago, where the cuisine being explored was Pakistani. I remember seeing one of the guests creating a dessert using carrots, which seemed to draw a pleasantly surprised reaction from host Maeve O’Meara.

Now I’m not usually a fan of Indian or Pakistani desserts, but I’m willing to give just about  anything a go. I think what turned me off the traditional carrot halwa dessert was presentation. I mean, how can you make what is essentially a pan of orange goo mouthwateringly appetizing?

Hmm, not very appetizing is it?

Enter pastry. My idea was to add some texture to the dish, to give it a little oomph. I think the hint of rose water matches perfectly with the cardamom spiced carrots, and the pistachios and pastry add an exciting crunch. I also reduced the amount of sugar traditionally used in making the halwa as the sugar syrup poured at the end of the cooking process provides more than enough sweetness.

These carrot baklava can be enjoyed as they are, or with an indulgent dollop of cream on the side. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “april : lisa’s carrot baklava”

  1. I love baklava but I never thought of cooking carrots with it. My husband is Eastern European and they eat this on special holidays like Christmas. This definitely worth a try. Thank you for sharing!

    1. Hi there, thank you for your support. Yes, please give it a try. And let me know how it goes!
      Cheers,
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

