may: jasmine’s cherry brownie tarts

My favorite classic sweet treat is the good ole brownie. The brownie was a staple when I was growing up. It was a common item at birthday parties when I was a child, my friends and I made it at sleepovers, and it was a must-have at neighbourhood bbqs, potlucks and house warmings. In fact, I think brownies were my first venture into the world of baking. Though…back then, my brownie recipes included cocoa powder instead of chocolate blocks :)

My favorite part of the brownie is the edge, so to ensure that each portion of brownie tart had an even proportion of edge and soft chocolate-y centre, I decided to bake the brownies in a muffin tin. A friand tin or a mini loaf tin would work just as well.

I added layers of cherries and cream cheese bits to the brownie tarts. I love the cherry-chocolate combination! I also added one of my favorite classic ingredients to the recipe – sour cream. Sour cream keeps the brownies moist and I think it balances the sweetness of the chocolate and sugar.

I brought the brownie tarts to a monthly home-made high tea I have with my girlfriends and the treats were really well received. I served them fresh from the oven sprinkled with a bit of icing sugar. Luckily, the friend who was hosting lives in the same apartment building as I do – so the brownies were still warm in the centre when they were served….which added to the complements and brownie points I received :p 

Leave a Reply

