may: kerri’s apple crumble ice cream tart

I chose this month’s theme purely on this recipe! I found it a few months ago while I was scrolling through the Australian Gourmet Traveller website. I love apple crumble – it evokes comfort and warm memories of my childhood, eating it hot, straight out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. I’ve had many over the years, but my mum’s is still the best!

I’ve always only had apple crumble in the traditional way – apple on the bottom, crumble browned on top, and mostly in winter. So the idea of having it in ice cream form not only sounded delicious, but also meant it could be a dessert to be enjoyed no matter what the weather.

I decided to make one change in the recipe for the sake of added interest and presentation. Instead of mixing the crumble into the ice cream, I made a ‘crumble’ tart base instead, substituting brown sugar in place of caster sugar in the pastry.

It was a hit with my guests who all agreed that my apple crumble ice cream tart actually tasted like apple crumble! Yay. And yum.

Recipes:
My version
Original recipe

Leave a Reply

