august: anna’s thai tea parfait

We decided to have a fancy dinner party on the weekend. Not for any reason, except that we just felt like it! I wanted to make my South East Asian dessert, so we incorporated Asian ingredients and flavors into the whole meal, although the techniques and the dishes themselves were not really Asian.

This was our menu:

The recipe for the Thai tea parfait is from the Momofuku Milk Bar cookbook. At Momofuku, it’s served with lemon mascarpone and Thai tea crunch, but I topped mine with ginger and kaffir lime leaf infused cream and my own version of the “crunch”…

My mum recently visited from Australia and brought some homemade “kueh ka pek”, also called love letters.

These are a specialty of Chinese Malaysians and are usually made for Chinese New Year. My family has made these for as long as I can remember. It’s usually a whole weekend event involving all our relatives. There are only a few ingredients in the batter (coconut milk, eggs and flour) and each piece is made individually in a special metal iron and cooked over a charcoal grill. They are very crispy and extremely delicate. Can you believe my mum brought these all the way from Australia?!

I took some of the pieces that had crushed in transit and sprinkled them on top my dish. You really could use anything you like that is crispy to add texture to the dish.

The combination of flavors is really unique – there’s tamarind in the parfait, and kaffir lime in the cream, two things you would not usually find in dessert – but somehow it works. It’s also really creamy and smooth, and the added crunch brings it all together. If you love Thai tea as much as I do, you will love this dessert!

Find the recipe here

Leave a Reply

