november: kerri’s chai-spiced melting moments

Melting moments. Simple, comforting cookies that melt in your mouth once you bite into them. Cookies that, in their original form, are delicious. But also ones that lend well to the addition of other flavours such as spices – perfect for this month’s challenge.

I decided to roll each cookie in cinnamon sugar before baking.

I love chai teas and lattes, so I took inspiration from these for the filling. Melting moments are sandwiched together with a buttercream, so I added a spice mix of cinnamon, cardamon and cloves to give it that chai flavour.

I haven’t actually made melting moments for quite a while now, and with the addition of spices, I was a little curious to see how they would turn out. Thankfully they turned out well, with the spices giving them that little bit of extra something – perfect for this festive season.

I celebrated my first ever Thanksgiving this year in Hong Kong. As it is an historical American holiday, it’s not something we ever did growing up in Australia. But I suppose it’s the influence of the expat community here in Hong Kong – all the hotels and restaurants have special Thanksgiving dinner menus, and people celebrate together, whether they are American or not. We were blessed with an amazing dinner, and my little part in it was to gift the melting moments to each guest. I found out that many people had never heard of Melting Moments, let alone eaten them before. So when ‘yum, wow, they really melt in your mouth’ was said by quite a few, I knew I’d hit a winner.

You can find the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

