november: lisa’s mango and cardamom kulfi

Ahhh, the wonderful world of spices. So many to choose from! My biggest problem this month was deciding which spice to use! I love the combination of ginger, clove and cinnamon. But in the end, after toying with a few ideas, I decided to go with cardamom, because this is a challenge after all, and cardamom is a spice I seldom use.

It’s a little ironic actually, because I wouldn’t really call cardamom my “favourite” spice, but what I have learnt is that if used in the right ratio, and combined with the right ingredients, it can be very refreshing, and nice palate cleanser, all of which makes for a perfect Summer dessert.

Here in Australia, we are just coming into mango season. This juicy, plump fruit is so gorgeous, and naturally sweet, it’s just made to feature in a dessert! With the holidays coming up, I’m sure we’re all getting busier and busier, so the beauty of this dessert is in it’s simplicity. I made it after work on a weeknight – believe me when I say, you will be able to complete it within 10 minutes. So if you do it before you start preparing dinner, and freeze straight away, you could be eating it 2 hours later after you’ve had your fill of dinner. Super easy and simple!

It’s also perfect for dinner parties – you can prepare it the day before (or a few days before) and come time for dessert, voila, pull it out of the freezer, coat in pistachios and you’re done!

So the next time you’re stuck for time, or wanting to try a new dessert, give this one a go. The easy peasy recipe can be found here.

Leave a Reply

