december: anna’s summer fruit pavlova

I’m celebrating Christmas at home in Australia this year, the first time since moving to New York six years ago. On the long flight over, I’d planned out in my head exactly what I wanted to make for my December blog dish, a cookie version of peppermint bark, a classic American holiday treat.

My boyfriend’s parents live in the Blue Mountains, a couple of hours out of Sydney. We arrived at their house yesterday and my blog dish plans went out the window when I saw a bowl filled with the most amazing summer fruit, including huge mangoes and ripe passion fruit, not to mention freshly picked raspberries from the backyard! Raspberry Plant (533x800) Freshly Picked Raspberries (800x533)I immediately knew I wanted to make pavlova to incorporate all the fresh fruit into my dish. Pavlova is the perfect dessert during Christmas-time in Sydney. It’s so light and airy, perfect for the hot summer weather, especially if you’ve just eaten a big Christmas lunch!Summer Fruit Pavlova (800x533)I used raw sugar instead of the caster sugar the recipe called for, so this resulted in a slightly darker and denser pavlova than usual, but it still had the crispy meringue crust and soft interior of any good pavlova. The cold whipped cream and fresh summer fruit made a perfect combination. If you’ve never eaten or made pavlova before, you should do it today! It’s really easy and delicious. The recipe makes 8 – 10 serves, but we finished it between 6 people. This version is nothing new or fancy, but how many people can say they’ve used just-picked raspberries from the backyard?!Pavlova Freshly Picked Raspberries (800x533)Find the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

