february: jasmine’s cinnamon buns

IMG_4325

This month’s theme was perfectly timed with my trip back home to visit family in Canada. My love of baked goods, and overall love of food and cooking, is from my childhood and significantly influenced by my mother and grandmother.

During my visit back home, my mom and I baked up a storm. We made apple pie, coconut tarts, butter tarts, biscuits, custards, jellies and Asian desserts such as mochi, sesame paste and red bean buns.

For this month, the recipe I am sharing with you is my mom’s home-made cinnamon buns! I LOVE cinnamon buns and it is something that I have not been able to find in Sydney. I am biased though, even if I were to find cinnamon buns in the shops, I don’t think they would compare to my mom’s home-made version.

This was the first time K had cinnamon buns and he was surprised by how good they were because he had expected ‘bread’. My mom and I baked these one snowy February afternoon and invited her neighbours over for afternoon tea to share these sweet treats. I had forgotten how good these were fresh from the oven. The whole house smelled of cinnamon and yeast.

IMG_4300

Perfect afternoon tea treat :) Crunchy cinnamon and sugar topping and soft pull-apart bread.

Leave a Reply

