march: jasmine’s lemon buttercream cupcakes

This month, I decided to make cupcakes!

IMG_4566

Spending time looking for my Easter treat recipe this month, gave me a nice break from researching and trying out baby recipes ( I am also introducing solids to Baby A this month). It was nice not having to finish a recipe by pureeing the lot!

During the Easter break we often spend time visiting friends or having people over for a get together, so I need a couple of quick and simple recipes for treats to use for entertaining. Also, I found that cupcakes (including the buttercream frosting) are ok to freeze and are still delicious when defrost in the fridge. This will be handy for when I do a lot of baking for K and I!

This lemon buttercream cupcake has a good zing of lemon! It’s also pretty :) especially when topped with chocolate easter eggs. The cupcakes are not too sweet, which is a ‘healthy’ sort of treat to balance the bags of chocolate that we will go through before and during the Easter holiday!

IMG_4559

The cupcake recipe is really simple and took me about 30 minutes to make (including 20 minutes of baking time). It is a basic cupcake recipe and can be varied by adding cocoa, chocolate chips, berries…to name a few variations. I used lemon zest for this recipe. I also used lemon zest in the buttercream because I wanted a strong lemon flavor for the overall product.

The added bonus of this recipe is that it quick and can be completed over a series of separate steps: (1) baking the cupcakes (2) preparing the buttercream frosting and (3) frosting / decorating the cupcakes. This is important for me now because I no longer have the luxury of spending an hour or two at a time to cook, but it still allows me to do something I love :) …. baking and er…umm…..eating!!

Leave a Reply

