march: lisa’s traditional hot cross buns

I know what you’re thinking. It’s the last day of the month, and Lisa’s posting on the very last day, again! Well, in my defence, March has been extremely busy for me this year. I was travelling again at the start of the month, and as tends to happen when you go from being crazy busy and stressed to totally relaxed and taking it easy, I caught a bad cold. It didn’t matter that where I was was really sunny and warm, my body was just run down. So I was sick with the flu for a week after I got back from my trip.
Then, most of my spare time in March was spent planning my friend’s hens weekend and also putting together her wedding cake. Yes, I work full time in my normal job as well as having a small business on the side where I bake cakes for weddings, birthdays, morning teas, etc. The wedding was last night, and here’s what I was working on for the last week :

IMG_3740

Each tier was a different flavour – starting with lime and mint on the bottom, white chocolate in the middle, and traditional fruit cake on the top. This is the biggest cake I have made to date (enough for 250 people), but it was great fun and got great reviews.

So, after making the traditional fruit cake, I had some left over mixed dried fruit. I was thinking about what I could make for the blog, and I thought, why not make traditional hot cross buns? I know technically it’s not a dessert, but it’s Easter, and what is better than waking up to the smell of freshly baked bread, straight from the oven!

IMG_2466

This recipe is quite easy, and can be prepared in advance. You can make the base dough the night before, and then punch down and shape into buns in the morning. The second rise is only 15 minutes, so it’s not a long wait between getting up out of bed and being able to eat the fruits of your labour. Enjoy, and Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

