april: kerri’s berry mascarpone tart

hmhk ag course four-2

My creation for this month is a super easy but impressive looking tart! I made these as the dessert to two paid dinners in our home, requested by a guest who came to our last homemade hk dinner. A scary but flattering request, I accepted the challenge! {Challenge not only because these would be my first paid dinner jobs, but also because we were moving out of our home less than a week after!}

On that note, apologies for such a late post. I now I write as an ‘international citizen’ as B likes to call it; or rather a nomad – with no fixed address, travelling abroad looking for jobs and hoping to settle in a permanent place soon. But for now, back in Sydney for a few months!

I decided on mascarpone for this month’s theme, only because I haven’t used it at all since moving to HK due to it’s expense. Seeing as I was being paid for these dinners, I decided to splurge a bit! I love the creamy texture of mascarpone, and I know some people don’t like ‘cheesy’ desserts, so the subtle taste is perfect to cook for people you don’t know. Mixed with brown sugar to give it a caramelised flavour and cream to lighten it up, it made the perfect light-but-decadent filling for the tart.

I roasted strawberries for the first time for another dinner party event recently and discovered how roasting really makes strawberries shine. You can prepare them a couple of days earlier and keep them in the fridge for when you need them, or have them on hand for eating with ice cream, on cakes or in a dessert!

roasted strawberries

For the tart shell, you can buy pre-made shells or use your own favourite pastry recipe. I wanted thin tart cases so rolled my usual go-to pastry thinner, which turned out to be a disaster! All the cases crumbled and broke! I ended up using another recipe but in the end, would have been happier with my go-to recipe at the usual thickness – it may not have looked as pretty, but I think the flavour would have been better. {I have included this one on the recipe.}

As I said, it’s super easy. Enjoy!
hmhk ag course four

You can find the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

