may: anna’s fig and pine nut tart

The weather is finally starting to get warmer in NYC. We celebrated the first weekend in May with brunch on our friends’ rooftop deck. There’s typically a short window when the weather is warm enough, but not too hot, to enjoy a whole afternoon sitting outdoors.

I wanted to make something fruity and light for the brunch – something sweet that could be eaten in the middle of the day without feeling like you needed to take a nap afterwards! I recently came across a blog called The British Larder, which has some really beautiful pictures and delicious-sounding recipes. There was a recipe for a fig and pine nut tart, which sounded great! I didn’t know if I’d be able to find figs, so I was prepared to substitute with peaches or plums, or even pears or apples. I usually like to buy fruit when it’s in season, but we can generally get things here year-round. I managed to find the figs in our local supermarket – they were a little pricey, but I thought it would be worth it for this recipe!
Fig Almond Lemon TartThe tart had a shortcrust pasty base. I haven’t really made shortcrust pastry many times before and I don’t have a favorite go-to recipe, but I’d like to find one! This one was very soft and a little difficult to work with, but it actually turned out quite well. The tart filling was made from almond meal with a hint of lemon, and topped with sliced figs and a sprinkle of pine nuts for some extra flavor and texture. The tart came out very light and was just the right texture I was looking for! The fig and pine nut combination was great, but you could really use any seasonal fruit and different nuts such as flaked almonds or chopped pistachios.
Fig and Almond Meal TartFor me, it’s always a tough choice between savory or sweet for brunch. When I’m eating out, ideally I’ll have a dining companion who also likes both, and we’ll order two dishes to share. Unfortunately, my boyfriend only likes savory, so will never go halves with me! But this month’s theme made the choice an easy one!

Find the recipe here

Leave a Reply

