may: jasmine’s cheat’s version of sticky date pudding

IMG_4714

It’s getting cooler in Sydney and the cooler weather conjures up cravings for warm and rich desserts. This month I decided to make sticky date pudding…..that is the short-cut method with an amazing result!

The first time I tried sticky date pudding was on my first trip to Sydney 9 years ago! I had never heard of it before, but I was a fan of dates and it was something different, so I gave it a try. SO glad that I did…love at first bite (ok…cheesy….but true).

This recipe is simple. Really simple. And a crowd pleaser. During the cooler months I make this often. The dessert is re-heated when served, so can be made ahead of time as long as the cake and the caramel are stored separately.

This month, I made it for a mother’s day brunch we had at my Aunt’s house. I baked the sticky date cakes in a muffin tin the night before and put them into an airtight container.

IMG_4704

The caramel sauce I made on the morning of the brunch, but this can also be prepared the night before. To serve, arrange the cakes on a heat proof dish and pour the caramel overtop the cakes. Reheat in the oven at 160C for 5-10 minutes.

Voila! Serve warm with a cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

