july: kerri’s homemade granola

granola1

I’m going a little out of the box this month. I actually made some cranberry and almond cookies for my post, but was compelled to post my granola after a few friends this month were inspired to make their own, if only they knew how. Though it is technically a breakfast food, one of our current flatmates loves to eat it with yoghurt for dessert! And that’s what gave me the idea that maybe it would be vaguely appropriate for BSS!

I started making my own granola in Hong Kong. We couldn’t find any that we liked there, and what was available was expensive. So after a bit of searching, I found Nigella’s recipe and have made adjustments over time according to our taste, moreso in the spices and the addition of maple syrup.

It’s super easy – pretty much mix everything in one bowl, pour it all into a tray and bake! You can add whatever nuts and dried fruit you like. I always add two or more dried fruits to boost the flavour and health benefits. My staple is sultanas, then I like to add dried cranberries, blueberries or both! It’s really a matter of taste, but berries are one of our favourites. Try it with your favourites and mix it up however you like.

I sometimes like to grab a handful for a quick afternoon snack, so I works at any time of the day. Go ahead and try this tasty but healthy breakfast, snack or dessert. Or pack them in small jars for take home gifts after brunch!

granola2

You can find the recipe here.

3 thoughts on “july: kerri’s homemade granola”

Leave a Reply

