august: jasmine’s copycat momofuku milk bar cornflake choch chip marshmallow cookie

 

IMG_5239
I really liked the concept of using cereal in desserts! I LOVE cereal! I grew up having cereal with milk for breakfast. My favorites from when I was growing up were cinnamon toast crunch and lucky charms! Now that I am an adult and know about ‘healthy eating’, I try to avoid sugary cereals and opt for cornflakes or rice bubbles. However, I often mix these healthier options with a sweetened granola mix to add additional texture and flavour.

K also loves his cereal, but he has it as a snack and not at breakfast. He likes the cereal that I put together for breakfast, but to that he also adds crumbled chocolate biscuits. I have to admit though, his version of cereal is SO much nicer.

I wanted to find a recipe for a cookie that incorporates K and my kooky way of having cereal. The Momofuku milk bar cornflake chocolate chip marshmallow cookie pretty much incorporated everything that K and I loved about cereal. I read through the Momofuku milk bar recipe for inspiration and made a different version of the cookie which included shredded coconut and I also added the cornflakes directly into the cookie as opposed to making the cornflake milk crunch.

IMG_5219

My version of the cornflake choc chip marshmallow cookie is soft and chewy with the crunch of cornflakes and gooey marshmallows. I brought these to a picnic in the park to share with friends and they were a hit :)

Leave a Reply

