august: kerri’s grandma’s rice crispy treats

IMG_1948

When breakfast cereal was announced as the theme for this month, my grandma’s rice crispy treats were the first thing to come to my mind. I have such fond memories of eating them at my grandparent’s house whenever we visited – there was always a supply in the cupboard. These are one of those homemade, nothing fancy treats but is one treat that’s hard to go past.

A couple of years ago I really wanted to eat them. My grandma is no longer with us, so I hadn’t had them for quite a number of years. I searched for a recipe but all the ones I found were made with marshmallows. My grandma’s didn’t have that marshmallowy sweetness, and there was some other ingredient in it that I couldn’t put my finger on. So I asked my mum if she knew the recipe and thankfully an aunt had recorded it. I adjusted it slightly for more readily available ingredients, and they taste just as good as my grandma’s.

They are the easiest treat to make and require no baking at all. So please, enjoy :)

You can find the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

