october: lisa’s chocolate buns

Bread – it’s one of my favourite things! All sorts – savoury or sweet, it can be eaten any time of the day! So this being a sweet themed blog, I decided to combine two of my favourite things – chocolate and bread.

This is by no means a new invention. In fact, this creation has been somewhat inspired by the chocolate bread twist that’s sold in my local Bread Top bakery. I created (what I think is) a healthier version, though if you like your bread sweet, feel free to add a little more sugar to the dough.

What I also love about making my own bread is that it’s quite theraputic. You can work the dough as hard as you want, kneading out your stress until you end up with the smoothest dough. Then coming back an hour later to see the magic of the dough doubling in size is also quite exciting. If your dough hasn’t risen, check that you’ve placed it somewhere warm enough (should be a little warmer than “room temperature”), or that your yeast hasn’t expired.

This month has been perfect weather for making bread in Sydney. Nice warm days that are also a little humid creates the perfect environment for the bread to rise. If you are somewhere a little cooler, try preheating your oven to the lowest temperature (around 25C – 30C), then when you’re ready for the dough to rise, put it in your oven and turn the oven off. There should be enough temperature kept inside the oven for your bread to rise. Otherwise, reheat it again after about 30 minutes, turning it off again after 5 minutes (once it has reached temperature).

I used “choc bits” for this recipe – small drop shaped chocolate bits. I just happened to have some in the pantry, and also it saved me the work of chopping up regular chocolate. If you don’t happen to have any, then roughly chopped chocolate will work just as well.

20131030_160856

Once you have divided your dough into portions and placed in the tin, there should not be any gaps between the rolls after the final rise.

PhotoGrid_1383213870040
Above: before
Below: after

The best compliment I got on my bread was “wow! it looks, tastes and feels like real bread!”. I responded with, “it is real bread! I made it myself!”.

I hope you can all give it a go and enjoy these chocolate buns. Not too sweet – they can be enjoyed just on their own, spread with butter or margarine, or with mascarpone for an indulgence. Happy baking!

20131030_185350

One thought on “october: lisa’s chocolate buns”

Leave a Reply

