april: kerri’s maple syrup ice cream

Many apologies for my late april post! I was three quarters the way through when 30 April became 1 May. Meaning I only had one step left (ok, two when you count the freezing) before I ran out of time.

I’ve discovered that days and dates blur in a way they haven’t before when most days (and nights) are spent feeding a little one, and feeling accomplished when you can actually leave the house looking somewhat together :) So the end of April crept up on me too fast, even though I had my recipe ready for some time. Again, apologies… but here it is!

When maple syrup was announced as the theme this month, my mind went into overdrive. So many ways to use it, how do I choose just one? Circumstances are a good way to narrow things down. I needed something simple and fast. And wanted something indulgent that I couldn’t have while pregnant. Home made ice cream was the answer :)

When we were living in Hong Kong, we subscribed to the Asian Food Channel on which many Canadian food shows are shown. One of our favourites was ‘Chuck’s Day Off’, where chef Chuck Hughes cooks simple, hearty recipes for the every day person in his restaurant kitchen. So when I came across his recipe for maple ice cream, I knew I had to try it. I stuck to the original recipe bar the maple flakes, which I didn’t have.

maple syrup ice cream

And it was as easy and delicious as I thought it would be. And my guests also thought the same. Creamy and not too sweet, it’s a recipe I will keep in my repertoire. It goes well with anything, giving a different but not-too-distinctive flavour to vanilla when paired with almost anything. I served mine with brownies, but it’s equally as good on it’s own (as you can see from my second helping in the photo!).

You can find the recipe here.

 

 

2 thoughts on “april: kerri’s maple syrup ice cream”

Leave a Reply

