july: kerri’s crispy milo rice treats

P1000988

When rice was announced as the theme this month, I immediately thought the crispy rice treats my grandma used to make. I used to love going to her place and seeing if she had any in her snack cupboard. Hers were not like the ones that use marshmallows as the base. She made hers with malt and liquid glucose. But her actual recipe was lost, so a couple of years ago, I experimented with some recipes and ingredients (there were some I couldn’t find) and came up with my own, which tastes as similar to hers as I remember.

{I just realised as I was looking through the history of posts, that I did actually post the recipe I came up with last year under the cereal theme! Luckily I played around with some of the ingredients this time – they actually came out crispier :) }

I substituted Milo for the malt powder, simply because I couldn’t find any on my trip to the supermarket. The Milo flavour does not come out distinctly, but adds to the ‘maltiness’ that I love about these. They are also not too sweet, so you can eat more than one :)

P1000987

It’s not fancy, but it is a treat. And I guarantee, adults love them just as much as children!

You can find the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

