january-february: kerri’s marco polo ice cream tea cake

My favourite black tea ever is Mariage Freres’ Marco Polo. I first had it many, many years ago when a friend gave my sister and I a Mariage Freres Marco Polo gift set. I had never had tea like it before – it was the first floral-fruity tea I’d had that actually tasted like it smelled! And I’ve been in love with it, and Marriage Freres, ever since.

So for our challenge this month, I wanted to find a recipe where I could use Marco Polo in a cake. After a bit of searching, I found a recipe where you could substitute any black tea, so that’s what I went with. And wonderfully enough, it was an easy and successful cake! The colour of the cake is from the tea, and it was so moist and light.

marco polo tea cake

I decided to make a loaf cake, then upgrade it for a friend’s birthday. I made a creamy, no churn honey ice cream to sandwich between the layers.

marco polo tea cake 2

Then topped it off with fresh cream and flowers.

marco polo tea cake 3

It looks decadent, but it was actually quite light and refreshing on a hot {normal}, Singapore day… and had to be put together, served and eaten in record time so the ice cream didn’t end up as a sauce :)

You can find the recipe here. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

