january-february: anna’s earl grey and clementine friands

For my tea dessert, I really wanted to make a plate with a few different components. I wanted to combine the tea flavor with some fruit as well as something creamy. Clementines are in season right now and it was really hard to go past them for the fruit component since they have such a great flavor. Since I was using citrus, earl grey was the obvious choice of tea, and I settled on mascarpone for the creamy component.

I decided to make friands, which are one of my favorite cakes, made from almond meal and egg whites. There’s a small amount of flour in them too, but I used a gluten free flour mix, which I find is a great trick for making cakes lighter. I made my own almond flour in my trusty vitamix and threw in the earl grey leaves to blend together.

IMG_6469

I used clementines in both the friands (zest) as well as the mascarpone cream (juice) and served some fresh segments on the side. The friands turned out beautifully – very moist and light. I used a good amount of earl grey tea leaves in the recipe and the flavor came through really well.

IMG_6475

The great thing about the friand recipe is that it uses 5 egg whites, and the 5 remaining egg yolks are just the right amount for my go-to ice cream recipe!

IMG_6480

Find the recipe here

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

