september-october: kerri’s malteser cake

I thought I would find this challenge easy as I have had a few ‘deconstructed’ desserts in restaurants, and thought about recreating those experiences. However, as I was choosing exactly what to deconstruct, I couldn’t think of much that really wouldn’t be like not putting the components together like in a pie, and just presenting them separately. Maybe it was a lack of creativity on my part…

But then my Malteser-loving hubby’s birthday rolled around. I had seen a recipe a few months ago for a Malteser Pie, but when I looked for it, I googled ‘Malteser Cake’ instead and voila, found a perfect birthday cake for him!

img_9521

It is deconstructed in the sense that you have chocolate cake, malt frosting which tastes exactly (in my opinion!) like the malt ball, then finished off with some chocolate ganache for more chocolatey goodness.

img_9452

The original recipe uses the whole cake, which has quite a dome on it (as you can see below), maybe to make it look more round like a malteser. The cake was super easy to make, not even needing a mixer (though you do need one for the frosting). But I think next time I would prefer a more crumb-y cake, a more cakey cake. This one was fine, still tasted good but I just prefer a different texture.

img_9547

The original recipe is also wholly covered in ganache, then wholly decorated with Maltesers! I decided to change it up a bit so it was a bit of a surprise on first bite, and also to make it look a bit more ‘mature’ :).

For our little family, I decided to make a mini version, using 10cm springform tins instead of a 20cm tin. I cut the domes off, each cake became a layer (instead of slicing into thinner ones), left the frosting exposed and dripped the ganache over. One of the best compliments from the hubby – he thought I bought it!

And here it is, the finished cake.

img_9455

You can find the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

